Home » Social Justice » The Love of Jesus

The Love of Jesus

Last week I blogged about the awareness that lies at the heart of the movement I want to inspire. It’s the awareness of the love of Jesus.

Like everything else, this movement begins and ends with Jesus. It’s a movement that begins and ends with knowing Him and His love. It’s a movement that begins and ends with following Him, and realizing His mission. Do you want to know what God wants you to do? Look at what Jesus did. Period.

What He did while He was here was redeem people. He had a relationship with them.  He loved on them. And that’s why when He spoke people listened to Him. He’d earned the right to have a voice in their lives.

So what did He say? He said, “The opportunity is to love God. To love God with all your heart, soul, and mind. And to love your neighbor as yourself.”  Two commandments, that’s it! Just love God with all your heart, soul, and mind, and love others as yourself.

But we don’t love others as ourselves.  We just don’t.

Why do I say that?  Well, are you telling me you want to be enslaved? Are you telling me that you want to not have food? And to have to eat dirt like so many kids are doing, just to be able to feed their appetite? Are you telling me you would want to drink the same water that you bathed in, only 20 feet from the latrine? You want to go into that same water source for your drinking water that you relieved yourself in and bathed yourself in and washed your dishes in? We wouldn’t want to do that!

So I want us to spread the idea of this commandment, this awesome commandment to love others as ourselves. This commandment is not about following a list of do’s and don’ts. It’s about respect for what He did for you.

The idea is that I have a right to decide who I’m going to have sex with and not have sex with. The idea is that I have a right to choose what job I want to do, even if I have to pay a debt. I have a right to choose my destiny and my path in life. And to love others as myself is to recognize that so many people have that right taken away from them.

You really feel it when it’s happening to kids. People are taking those rights away from them. Their mom or dad might have sold them. Or maybe their mom or dad died because of bad drinking water or lack of food or HIV. So they have no parents and they get snatched up by slavers and thrown into a truck and sold into slavery. Maybe they get turned into child soldiers who wake up every morning knowing they have to shoot people because some guy controls them and tells them to shoot people.

A lot of these scenarios are taking place. This really happens. The disease from hunger, HIV, or lack of clean drinking water, is killing parents and leaving children vulnerable to slavers. These scenarios all work together.

What better for a Christian, hearing God’s commandments, to say hey, I have an opportunity to help make a dent in this scenario? Wouldn’t you like to feel the joy of releasing a captive slave? Wouldn’t you want to be there to see a well that has been broken open, and get to say, “I helped with that”?

Imagine being part of the joy these people have when they realize someone loves them. This is life! This is life in Christ! And you would say, “I feel fulfilled!”  This is such a good thing!

This is the love of Jesus. Because that’s what he did. He freed the captives and healed the sick and fed the hungry. You’ll find you want to spend your life fulfilling those two commandments. I want every Christian to realize this, to be moved by the love of Jesus to show the love of Jesus in order to know the love of Jesus. That’s my idea.

One thought on “The Love of Jesus

Leave a Reply

