Home » Church » We Will Unify the Church

We Will Unify the Church

I do not lie in bed at night saying, “Man, I’m so awesome, I just won two world championships! Oh, I’m so cool!” I do not do that.

I don’t go home at the end of the day and say to my three boys, “Hey sons! Tell me what your dad did,” just to hear them say, “Dad! You won two World Series!” I would be so disappointed to hear my kids say that. I don’t want them to say that. I don’t want them to know me as some pro athlete that won a world championship. In five years, no one is going to even know I was on the team.

Okay, Giants fans might remember, because they really love their team! But most people will not know who I am. When I stand before my God and King, and He looks at me from the throne, what is He going to say? “Well done, good and faithful servant, you won two World Series, congratulations”? That’s not what I want to hear!

church unityI want to hear Him say, “Jeremy, thank you. Thank you for promoting the Gospel. Thank you for taking the least of these and loving them. Thank you for using your talents to love other people, and for using your success to help other people succeed. Thank you Jeremy, for joining the movement of people devoted to loving their neighbor as themselves.”

I want to hear that because that’s how I read the Gospel. I read in Matthew 25 about the separation of the sheep and goats, and I hear Him say that when you feed the hungry and give the thirsty something to drink, you will go into eternal life. You will be righteous if you do these things. If you do not do these things, you miss the boat. I can’t read it any other way.

So think about that when you go to work. Students, when you’re in school, think about that. Take that passion you have for your neighbor and bring it to your job, bring it to your classroom, and join the movement. Because it’s stirring. It’s stirring among you, and it’s stirring in the world.

This is our calling as a church. If we follow the commandment to love the Lord God with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength by loving our neighbor as ourselves, we will unify the church. I’m not talking about the four walls of a building. I’m talking about a unified church. Not a Presbyterian church. Not a Baptist church. Not a Catholic, Evangelical Free, or non-denominational church. Not any of that. We are one church. We are the body of Christ, and we have one calling. We are to love our Lord God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength, and we are to love our neighbor as ourselves.

I hope to hear Him thank me for joining this movement, because this movement of love will unify the church. And that will stir our God and King to come back.

See you Monday.

2 thoughts on “We Will Unify the Church

  1. LOVE IT! Yes, Giant fans will remember. heheheh. One of my held Bible verses in my loving fear of the Lord. Keep going faithfully strong for Him. I have a question, how many on the team know for sure they have a home in heaven? Every year my family tries to share the truth of salvation with many Giant players, and other fans or invite them to a local church. Which is hard, but we keep going faithfully for the Lord. We have loved the SF Giants for a very long time but do pray all we are around will trust in Jesus Christ. Praying for those on the team can all one day share the love you have for the Lord too.
    Through Him
    Olga

Leave a Reply

