Home » Aroma of Christ » Why Did You Feed Me?

Why Did You Feed Me?

Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place. For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing. 2 Corinthians 2:14-15

I would like to encourage you to think about your purpose in life. It took me a few years to figure out mine. Perhaps I can save you some time! After a lot of frustration and failure, and many conversations with God, I learned that my purpose for being on earth is to love my neighbor as myself. This is a mentality that will change your entire life.

I live it to the best of my ability. I’m always improving. I’m always learning. I’ve learned how to use the platform I’ve been given as a professional athlete to speak this message into the world. I do this because I want you to feel the joy that I’ve discovered.

WebSo I encourage you to think about your purpose. You have a role in this world. You have a gift. It’s a gift that you can combine with the call to love your neighbor as yourself. Do that, and there’s your purpose. Maybe you are a teacher. Maybe you are a businessman or a businesswoman. You might be an athlete. You might be a student. You might be a mom. You might be a missionary! No matter your gift, you can use it to love your neighbor as yourself.

It can be so easy to forget this. Even for missionaries! Missionaries can get so caught up in helping people to accept Jesus that they forget to learn their neighbor’s needs. They can get so focused that they actually lose focus. It’s a paradox that can happen to all of us. You can get so busy helping people to accept Jesus that you don’t hear God’s call when someone tells you about a group of hungry people. You can get so busy helping people to accept Jesus that you miss it when someone tries to remind you that there are people being trafficked. You know, you’re so focused! You forget! You’re supposed to love.

And sometimes we don’t do that very well.

But if you do hear the call, if you do remember to love, if you live with the mentality that you are going to love your neighbor as yourself, then you will know joy unlike any other. You will exude the aroma of Christ. It will flow off of you. It will flow off of you, because people are going to wonder why you do what you do. They’ll wonder why you love your neighbor as yourself.

Think about it! If someone comes up and hands me something to eat, I’m going to wonder why they did that. Do they want something from me? We can’t help but wonder why people give us things. That’s just how we are as human beings. So imagine how it will be when you give something to eat to someone who is hungry. They are going to ask you, “Why are you giving me that?” And you are going to say, “Because I love you.”

That could be pretty surprising! They’ll look at you, and they’ll say, “What did you say?” And you’ll say, “I’m giving you something to eat, because I love you.”

And they’ll be curious. They’ll ask you, “What? Why do you love me like that?”

And you will tell them, “Because Jesus loves me. And that’s how He loves me. So that’s how I love you.”

You can’t predict the joy you’ll feel. You just have to do it. And then you’ll know. See you Saturday.

One thought on “Why Did You Feed Me?

  1. It;s so cool when, as Christians, we can cause people to go, “huh? Why’s they do that?” and then get to explain it all to them. Thanks Jeremy

Leave a Reply

