Home » Encouragement » Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

I recently heard a story about a man who lost his family in a flash flood. All his children were killed, and his wife as well. He was the only one to survive. With everything taken from him at once, he said he was surprised by the grace he received. He said that without that grace, he would not have found the will to live.

I’ve never experienced loss like that. It must be devastating. I pray for protection over my family every day, because I don’t want to ever go through anything like that. I’m not sure how I would respond if that happened to me. Would I still believe that there’s a God? Yes, I would, because I truly believe that God is good. Maybe initially I would be angry at God, punching my fist at Him, asking Him, “Why?”

But I would be a mess. I wBlessed Mournould be in so much pain. That’s why I think my anger would give way to a prayer in which I would say, “God, I’m going to need a ton of mercy and grace right now, because this hurts me to my soul. My loved ones were parts of me that are no longer there. My faith is being tested in who you are. My faith is being tested that you know what you’re doing when these things happen. I need you to gracefully get me through this.”

There is a time to mourn. There’s a time to weep, and there’s a time to cry. The mourning process is not a selfish thing. It’s scriptural. Jesus said, “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” I think God cries with us when we grieve.

If you’re experiencing the pain of loss, I would encourage you to ask for mercy and grace, and to sit with the King and mourn, and know that it’s okay.

I say this with some boldness, since I’ve never experienced it. I know people have gotten through devastating loss, so surely mourning is okay. It’s okay to ask for grace and mercy just to meet with God every day. I believe Jesus will sit with you, and hug on you.

I don’t know if Jesus sits with everybody all the time. But I believe that when you mourn, you’ll feel the Spirit of God sitting with you, and giving you a hug, and letting you cry, and weep, and hide your head in His embrace.

There’s fulfillment in that. Ask for the mercy and grace you need to get through the pain of loss. Ask for the grace you need to keep going. It is there for you.

See you Saturday.

3 thoughts on “Blessed Are Those Who Mourn

  1. I appreciate this. I experienced a lot of loss in 2011 as a number of people very close to me died, including my boyfriend and my grandmother, seemingly one after another. People who meant well said a lot of crazy things to me, some hurtful, but when you say “to sit with the King and mourn, and know that it’s okay” you get it exactly right. In the West/Developed world we are so far removed from death and we avoid it at all costs. The idea of sitting and allowing yourself to fully undergo a period of mourning runs contrary to our culture that often tells us to work to move on, to get over things (I still get asked if I’m over the death of my loved ones, the answer is, I’ll never be “over it” just learn to live with it). Death is not part of God’s plan for us, which is why it hurts so much, but it is part of this life and this fallen world and something we will be forced at some point to deal with. Understanding that it’s OK to mourn, while also understanding that it’s ok to hate the concept of death at the same time is the balance we have to find. As you allude, He hates it just as much, if not more than we do, as He is Life itself, and He mourns alongside us, even more deeply. Yet He has the victory. Thanks so much for thinking about and writing this – it’s especially meaningful that you focused on this, when, as you said you haven’t experienced such loss yourself.

  2. Profound as often the Lord will have us to walk through a valley, but still trust in His providence and His plan. As you had quoted Eccl. 3:1-8; these various verses offer peace of mind for what we often go through in this world, but yet if we look to Him in all things we should then rejoice for this momentary affliction is nothing in comparison to the weight of Glory that is in Christ and in Christ alone (2 Cor. 4:17-18). Thank you for this post bro. I pray that the Lord blesses you and yours abundantly this season.

  3. Thank you for writing on a topic you’re inexperienced in because some of the things you said were reminders some of us needed to hear. Sometimes when you’re experienced, you forget these simple, meaningful truths since your thoughts are clouded by the mourning. My estranged father passed two years ago and it’s still a struggle. It will always be a struggle. There are so many unanswered questions and a goodbye that was never given to me–so many things left unsaid. God does give us grace to get up and go on and continues to renew it. So few people in their young twenties have to deal with the loss of a parent, a loss indescribably different than any other, and so it’s an isolating experience on top of all the other emotions. But God began to bring people in my life and friends who never talked about the death of their parent into the forefront for me. Everything in that period was such a blur, especially having to go straight back to school, work, and internship, and I can’t remember how others came about, but they did. I was surrounded by people who not only were comforting and supportive, but by those who truly understood what I did. God knew that for me to get through it, I needed to have people who had experienced what I had so I didn’t feel alone. He sent me many, and we bonded beyond an understanding. I gained friends, grew closer to friends, and lost those I didn’t need in my life anymore. It’s still a painful event and I’ll always be learning how to deal with it and grow stronger, but good things came from it because God answered my prayers and needs. It’s been particularly hard lately since he passed this time of year (maybe even this day, we don’t know), so I needed to hear this reminder. Yet, another need fulfilled by God through others.

    Thank you, and Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

