Home » Baseball » World Series 2012: Who Is God’s Favorite Team?

World Series 2012: Who Is God’s Favorite Team?

If the Almighty God backed your team in one of the biggest contests in sports, it would be an unmistakable advantage. So who does God favor to win the World Series? I don’t know! I think that’s one of the ultimate questions to ponder.

Ministers struggle with the question of whether God takes sides in sports. They have such a hard time answering it that they kind of give up. They say, “You know what? I don’t know if God necessarily cares if you win or lose. I think He cares about your heart and how you are as a person.”

I’ve thought about that. And I can’t accept it! Because if it’s true, then I could say to you, “You know what? I don’t think God cares if your business succeeds or not.” Or, “I don’t think God necessarily cares if you, as a stockbroker, make good decisions in the stock market and lose everybody’s money or not. I think He just cares about your heart and who you are.” I mean, does that seem right? No, it doesn’t.

I think sometimes people forget that sport is a gifting. If I were to say that God doesn’t care who wins or loses, then basically I’m saying that He doesn’t care about what He’s gifted me to do.

But He’s gifted a lot of guys on a lot of teams! So what happens when I’m pitching against, for example, Josh Hamilton? He’s a believer and I’m a believer. Who’s going to win? The joke around baseball is, “Whoever prayed harder that day!” But really, how do you answer a question like that?

I think God wants us to use wisdom.

For example, based on how Hamilton has designed his swing, if I throw a ball to a spot he likes, he can hit it hard. That’s what he’s gifted in. But if I execute my pitch, then I should be able to get him out, or at least have a good chance of getting him out.

On the other hand, if I just close my eyes and say, “I think God favors me over him so I’ll just throw my pitch in the direction of home plate,” then we know what will happen. He’ll hit it hard, and I’ll be wondering why God didn’t make me come through. But we know why: it’s because I didn’t execute. It’s because I didn’t focus on what I was doing. That’s using wisdom. You have to focus.

Albert Pujols is a believer. He’s also one the greatest hitters to ever live. But I’ve seen him get out seven out of ten times. And he’s okay with that. Pujols is okay at the end of the year if he bats .320, hits 35 homers, and has 100 RBIs. He doesn’t lose sleep at night. He failed 70% of the time, and he’s okay with it. Why? Because he’ll tell you, “You make your pitch, I’ll tip my hat. Fine!” But if I don’t make my pitch and he hits a home run, I can’t say, “Oh, God, why didn’t you make me come through with Albert Pujols?” It wasn’t what God did or didn’t do. It happened because I threw the ball right where Pujols wants it!

You have to use wisdom. You have to make your pitch.

I believe God blesses players on both sides of the game. And so I pray for focus. I pray for focus, I pray for determination, I pray for favor, and I pray that I will pitch well. I pray for those things. God’s given me a gift, but I still have to pray that I execute the best way I know how.

See you Saturday.

15 thoughts on “World Series 2012: Who Is God’s Favorite Team?

  1. Pray believing that you have in order to receive – so your prayer of focus is right on! God’s love is like sunshine, its always there shining on everyone equally, some of us just see the clouds and don’t feel the warmth of his love. Your gift of being a MLB player lets you share with us the challenges of staying connected and focused during stressful conditions. So Jeremy, we have the same prayer, Pray believing you RECEIVE God’s love in order to GIVE your best (focus).

    Inhale on the thought of receiving and exhale as you give the best to your ability!

  2. Hello Jeremy,

    Several years ago a certain gentleman known as “The Toastman” introduced us. Ever since that day in that little town where you played minor league ball I became immediately impressed with you. I have followed your career from afar always wanting for you to succeed. I am so glad to see that you have, not only as a player but as a man, husband, father, and leader. You have allowed God to take the gifts that were given to you and do great things. As a Youth Pastor veteran for almost 2 decades I am thrilled to see your heart for youth and the work you are doing in their lives. Keep up the great work!

    I hope the best for you and will be pulling for you in this year’s World Series. I look forward to the day we can meet again.

    God Bless,
    Jerry

  3. Congrats on the win tonight. I enjoyed the season and this post season play has been so exciting AND I’ve been praying for you and the team to be successful. It may be entertainment for us but it’s your job. I pray I do well in my job, no difference at all!
    Go Giants!

  4. The Giants obviously! Nice job last night by the way.
    There are so many things in this world that are impossible to understand. Our teams win and lose games, believing friends build and lose businesses, good people of strong faith are healed or are not – in all situations I agree with you that God cares deeply about all of these things, these individuals and the impact of the wins and losses on those He loves. He has gifted you, equipped you to do what you do and it brings Him joy to see you do it to your utmost, for His highest…
    I don’t necessarily think God decides who wins the game – you all do that through a combination of hard work, focus, team work and a little bit of luck/chance – I believe He’s there with you through the whole experience and I believe He cares deeply about how individuals choose to glorify Him, through the game itself, win or lose, in all circumstances. And you do do that by playing your best and serving Him in doing so.
    And I will be extra, super, mega happy when y’all do win. Hum-baby.

  5. God loves and cares more for each of us more than we can ever imagine! And if we care about something, He cares about it too.

    But it’s not all about us. Not really. It’s all about Him, His glory, and His invitation to have us share in His glory with Him. He will use victory and He will use defeat for His purposes. I loved Ryan Vogelsong’s interview on national tv after Game 6 of the NLCS, which described this perfectly, “I just believe that God had a plan for me this whole time,” Vogelsong said. “I feel like all the stuff that I went through—going to Japan and going to winter ball at 33 years old, and getting back here last year, is stuff that He was doing for me to get me prepared for this moment.”

    Right there, we saw Ryan give glory to God through his life, his game, and his testimony. It’s a beautiful thing these days to hear God credited for a victory that was only achieved and prepared for through some tough circumstances. The Bible is chock-full of such triumphs (the cross, for example). God gives us victory and defeat on His terms, not ours. And even when it hurts, with the big picture in mind, I wouldn’t have it any other way. And so, for each and every Giants’ win (and loss), to God be the Glory!

      • No need to apologize my friend you haven’t offended me. I don’t have any regrets in believing in someone higher than myself who loves me no matter what. So do you have anyone who loves you without condition and would lay His life down for you?

  6. This is one of the more thoughtful essays of religion in sport that I’ve ever read, certainly more so that the “God made this happen” attitude that so many American players in all US sports spew in interviews (a prime example being that drivel that Ryan Vogelsong came out with as quoted by Martha).

    What is reasonable to draw from Christianity is that God gives us each our own talent. But beyond that, it’s up to us what we do with it. No matter how much talent a person has, if he doesn’t put in the practice he will never turn that raw talent into success. Thus a player who believes that “God made this happen” doesn’t truly glorify God – what he does is denigrate himself. (It’s my firm belief that the main intent behind most such statements is to proselytize, but that’s an entirely different argument.)

    Christianity teaches that God is omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent. What it doesn’t teach us is that God is a micro-manager. Does He care about who wins and who loses? I can’t believe it. I can, however, believe that He takes an interest on whether each of us does his best with what He has given us.

    Game 2 tonight. Go Giants.

  7. Great pitching tonight Jeremy and to you and the Giants – I am so happy for everyone on the team that you won the World Series! God bless you.

Leave a Reply

