Home » Baseball » Doubt and Faith Part 2

Doubt and Faith Part 2

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

I know I promised a blog about the doubt experienced by our Biblical ancestors, but first I want to say a few more words about what doubt is like.  Last time I wrote about how we create doubt. Today, I’m writing about the doubt that comes hand-in-hand with faith in God.

We know that God is the great I Am. We know that He is whoever we need Him to be. But something happens when it comes to failure. When we’re facing failure, it seems like we almost automatically think, “Well, He’s not there.”

Even though we’ve never seen God, we depend on Him. So what happens to us “show me” types when bad things happen? It’s natural to think, “I depend on God, who I’ve never seen, to get me through life. Now something bad has happened, and I don’t feel like He’s there. And if He’s not there, then who do I depend on? I have to depend on myself. And if I have to depend on myself, then why depend on God in the first place? If He’s even real that is. I mean, I can’t even see Him!”

Right?

I’ve dealt with that. I’ve dealt with that in baseball. Nothing’s a sure thing in this game. You don’t ever know. They say it’s a game of failure, but how I make a living is based on success. I have to do well for teams to want me to play. And to do well, I have to depend on so many things. I have to depend on making the right pitch. I have to depend on the hitter to hit the ball to where the defense can make the play. And I have to depend on the defense to make the play.

No matter what you do, you have to depend on so many things for it to go right. And when it doesn’t go your way, you forget to depend on God.

The other day at Giants Faith Day, I said that I think we choose our route, but God orders our steps. Sometimes that’s so hard to deal with, because we have a certain way that we want things to go. Even though we know that God sees the whole picture, if things don’t go the way we want them to, then we wonder if He’s even there. We stomp our feet and pout, and say, “I didn’t have it the way I wanted it.”

That’s when you start wondering, “Do I believe in a God who’s not there?” Or you ask yourself, “If He’s real, then why is this happening?” You get frustrated. You decide to be all about yourself. You quit leaning on Him, you quit believing in Him, and you doubt Him.

And I’m telling you, when you read the Bible, you realize you’re in very good company! And I will talk about that next time. See you Friday.

2 thoughts on “Doubt and Faith Part 2

  1. It’s nearly impossible to wrap our minds around the sovereignty of God and His awesome unfailing love but that’s where faith comes in and taking God at His Word. I’m looking forward to your sharing about those in the Bible who faced such things during times of crisis. I love that about the Bible, even the great men (and women) of faith had times of doubt and it’s left as an example for us to not give up but to keep our eyes on Jesus the Author and Finisher of our faith! God bless!

  2. I think a high view of the Word necessarily requires God choosing our steps and our route. For how can any man foil God? God is sovereign is more than he knows what’s coming. The God of the universe who spoke us into being, the Son in whom all things were created, this God also manages allt he atoms and decides that for today, all physics and electricity and water and the sun does not explode all at once, but will burn brightly but steadily today. Trusting in sovereignty is wrapped up well in Romans 8:28 And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. There are several important points.

    1. God CAUSES. God does not just know it’s coming, he -ordains-.
    2. God causes All things to work together for good (yes even driving in traffic and the yelling match I had with my poor spouse) to
    3. Those who love God (if we love God we obey his commandments- we can’t expect God to cause all things to work for our good when we do not obey- see John 15 for loving God= obeying commandments and living in Him for our joy)
    4. God calls, according to His purpose. We’re all called out of death, into life, and everything we do has purpose.

Leave a Reply

