Home » Faith » How To Be A Dad, Part 2

How To Be A Dad, Part 2

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Then Jesus answered and said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner.  (John 5:19)

Recently, I’ve been reflecting on the duty of every Christian man to replicate, to the very best of his abilities, everything that he sees Jesus do. John 5:19 expresses it perfectly here. Just as Jesus does what He sees His Father do, so our children will do what they see us do. So what we do is really important. We are called to be just like Jesus.

Jesus did not judge us. He loved us. When He came, He stood up for a lot of different points of view. If He got angry with anybody, it was the Pharisees. They were the religious leaders. They were like the presidents of our seminaries, or the pastors of our large churches. People looked to the Pharisees for moral wisdom and spiritual guidance.

And all the time Jesus said to them, “You’re embarrassing me! You’re embarrassing everything that we stand for! You are whitewashed tombs!”

But He never judged sinners. Ever. He didn’t judge them because He knew, 100%, that when He went up on that cross, He would be taking their shame. He knew it! He said to the prostitute who was about to be stoned, “Neither do I judge you. Now go away. Stop doing what you’re doing, sure, but go away. You’ve been forgiven.”

He was prophesying to her. He was saying, “Look, when I get nailed to that cross, and that blood starts dripping from my body, and I get whipped and beaten, I’m doing it for you. I love you! This is why I’m doing this! I’m doing this because you feel shame over what you do. And these people want to stone you over it? I’m going to die for you over it, because I love you.”

Think about the people that hated Him. They were the people in the religious sector. They said, “That’s not how I do things. I want to judge that person. I don’t want to die for that person.” Those people hated Jesus. They hated Him for having too much love.

They said, “This isn’t how it’s supposed to be done! Someone’s got to pay.” And Jesus said, “No, no one has to pay, because I’m going to pay for all of it.”

That didn’t make sense to them. To be like Jesus, they would have to become servants. They would have to change how they looked at everything. They would need to forgive sinners, be nice to them, serve them, and love them.

But that isn’t how they looked at things. They said, “No, we need to stone them. We need to let them know that they’ve embarrassed themselves. We’re going to make them pay the price for it.”

And Jesus said, “No, no, no, no, no! That’s not how it goes! I’m going to pay the price for it. I’m going to take all of this on me. I’m going to die. My Father will turn his back on me because I am going to take all the sins of the world upon my shoulders. Why am I going to do this? Because I love the sinners. And when I resurrect from the dead, they will be redeemed. They won’t have to live in shame. They won’t have to live in guilt. They will live in freedom! And they’re going to want to change because of it.”

And that’s what I try to give my family. More on that next time. See you Friday.

4 thoughts on “How To Be A Dad, Part 2

  1. I am not a huge religious person. I’ve had my moments of doubt and my moments of prayer. I always take time out during the week to read your blog. I agree with a lot of what you write and it has helped me to view religion and Christ in a different way and for that I thank you. I find myself judging people and religion less. Your blog has also become a way for me and my best friend who recently moved across the country to stay in touch. We read and the discuss. Again thank you!

    • Courtney, don’t worry about being religious, that’s not what Jeremy is writting about. He’s writing about being saved and how Jesus took all of our sins upon him. Religious is going thru the motions of “church” without opening your heart to see the wonderful gift we all have been given by Jesus. Talk more with your friend cross-country and then consider giving up all YOUR everyday choices and letting Jesus guide you by letting Him into your heart. You won’t be sorry!

      Thanks Jeremy for your word and testimonials!!!
      Craig

  2. thank you for this post. i have been working so hard not to judge others. it’s not easy…and as i’m learning, if i have business to mind, i won’t mind others’ business AND i will not judge others. if i judge someone, then i must also remember i must look at myself…what am i seeing in others that i don’t like about myself? and then i am trying to work on improving upon those things that i don’t like about myself.

Leave a Reply

