Home » Baseball » World Series Disciple, Part 6

World Series Disciple, Part 6

Like This!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Why do you suppose the Giants won the World Series? I mean, we were called a lot of things, like “the misfits.” We had the beards, we had the Mohawks, and we had the straight-laced guys with the nice haircuts and the shaved faces. We had so many different personalities, coming from different cultures with different ideas and philosophies on life.

We had Freddie Sanchez, who had never even sniffed the playoffs. The guy lost one hundred games almost every year of his career in Pittsburgh. We had Cody Ross, whose team just let him go and we got him off waivers for basically nothing. We had Pat Burrell, who had won the World Series before and his team basically just gave up on him. We had Aubrey Huff, who played ten years of his career with teams that never even had a winning record. We had so many guys like that.

We also had guys like Juan Uribe and Edgar Rentería, and Javier López and myself, and Aaron Rowand and Pat Burrell, that had been to a World Series, and/or had won a World Series.

I think we won because we genuinely wanted to win for each other. I really truly feel that every one of us wanted to win for the other guy. That’s what made us — the misfits — into a family. For me, it was a “love your neighbor as yourself” scenario.

I remember one time during the division series, I looked at Aubrey Huff, and I said, “Man, I hope we win today, because I want this guy to win a playoff game.”

And then we were in the NLCS, and we were like, “I want to win this National League Championship game, because I want Aubrey Huff, Freddie Sanchez, and Cody Ross to feel what it’s like to be in the World Series.”

Then we were in the World Series. And we wanted to win for Buster Posey and Madison Bumgarner, who had never been in a situation like that. They’re young kids, phenoms. They’ve just come up, and they’re in a World Series. That’s why we wanted to win, so they could experience this. We didn’t want them to have to wait ten years, or spend their careers like Ken Griffey, Jr. who never played in a World Series in twenty-one years. We were too close to getting there.

And guys were sacrificing their playing time. Cody Ross, an everyday center fielder, didn’t get to play every day at first. Mike Fontenot came over from the Cubs and basically took on the role of a guy coming in every now and then. But then Freddie Sanchez wasn’t feeling very good so Fontenot played a lot at second. And when Freddie felt better, Edgar Rentería was hurt, so Fontenot had to play third while Uribe was at short. And when Rentería was feeling better, Uribe went to third and Rentería went to short. Guys were moving around and literally saying, “We don’t care. At this point in time, it’s all about winning a World Series for each other, whatever we’ve got to do.”

And you know, there was probably some frustration. Selfishly for me there was frustration. But I prayed against it a lot, and I recognized why I was there. I wanted to win the World Series. I’ve been to one and lost, and I was like, “Man, that could be my only chance and I lost! And now I get to go again, and I want to win!” But it was so much more than that. Truly, our team’s literal feeling was, “I want to win, because I want these guys to feel what it’s like to win a World Series.”

So everyone was unselfish. It was amazing! Edgar Rentería has played fourteen years in the big leagues, and for awhile there, he wasn’t even playing. And he never said anything. He led when he had to lead, he was ready to play, and he never complained. And now look at him. World Series MVP! Are you kidding me? That’s unbelievable! It’s so inspiring.

This is truly why people saw that we were a family.

Did God play a role in helping us win? My answer might surprise you! See you Friday.

7 thoughts on “World Series Disciple, Part 6

  1. That’s exactly what I kept saying, watching the games. “I just want Freddie (or Aubrey or Andres) to get a hit in post-season.” Then it was to “just win one post-season game”. Then to get to the NLCS. Gracious, after that it was all gravy!

    You guys were truly a family this year and you had lots of “relatives” out here sweating out every strike, every base hit, every win. It was torture, all the way. But was it worth it? You bet!

    (And greetings from Ritzville!)

  2. Jeremy,

    I have been reading your blog for a while, but I have never commented. I had to say something about this post though, simply because it rings so, so true. This is what I imagined all of you were thinking and it is certainly what the fans were thinking. We wanted this for all of you so much; for all the reasons you already listed.

    Anyways, congratulations and thank you! This season was absolutely amazing.

    Merry Christmas from the other side of the Cascades. I hope you all aren’t getting all the rain we are.

    Maiya

  3. What you guys did this year as a team is simply amazing. Winning a championship is something Willie Mays couldn’t do, Barry Bonds couldn’t do, nor Willie McCovey, Jeff Kent, J.T. Snow, Will Clark, etc. When I started rooting for the Giants in 1998, I thought the Giants were all about flashy superstars and big-time home run hitters. I thought this was what ultimately would bring home a championship to San Francisco, but as I saw when I almost cried as a 9-year-old during the one-game play-off loss against the Cubs in 1998, not to mention the 2002 World Series demons, this formula does not breed winning. What brings winning is the comradery that the 2010 San Francisco Giants exhibited, something I’ve never seen in the Giants’ clubhouse in my 13 years as a Giants fan.

    The 2010 Giants just go to show you that it’s not the dollars and cents that wins championship. It’s the desire to win, a talented group of players, and most importantly, a great clubhouse that looks out for each other. Because the Giants now embody this philosophy, I look forward to 2011 more than any other season, including the inaugural 2000 season at AT&T Park.

    Also, this is a well-written blog, especially this particular blog post. I am going to link it on my blog in my favorites section. Good luck with your career.

    As I wind up this comment, you’re about to make an emergency start on my MLB 10 The Show Season vs. the Dodgers. I’ll try to get a CG shutout for you!

  4. Jeremy, I had the fortunate experience to meet you and take a picture with you at your hotel the night before the parade. I know you were tired, yet you took the time to say hi to a fan and pose for a picture.

    I knew you were a believer, as I am. I’ve met a lot of public figures who claim to be Christians who, when the lights are on, know exactly what to say. But in times when they’re tired or frustrated, they don’t always reflect their beliefs.

    Kind of like the rest of us, huh?

    Anyway, I appreciate this post. Very insightful and very true. I had a little debate with my dad on this very topic many years ago. I won’t go into all the details here, but I took the position you did. God cares about the “little” things which matter to us. In wins or losses in life, we must walk in integrity and dignity. We must be consistent in our behavior. We must remain strong in our faith no matter what.

    Thanks for this post!

    God bless.

  5. Pingback: Chemistry, Pockets, Potlucks, Jazz, and…Baseball? « Snow Woulda Had It!

Leave a Reply

